Vol. 38/1 (2009)

ARTICLES
• A. KORN with a collaboration of D. DURKIN-MEISTERERNST, “Parthian seen from a Balochi perspective” p. 7-23.

Summary
This paper argues that the interpretation of Parthian material can profit from the comparison with contemporary North Western Iranian languages. As an example, it contrasts the phonology and etymology of some Parthian words with evidence from Balochi, which leads to transcriptions and sound changes not previously assumed for Parthian.
Keywords : Parthian ; Balochi ; North-Western Iranian ; etymologies ; sound changes ; Manichean texts.

• D. BUYANER, “Note on the modes of transliteration of Avestan in pahlavi”, p. 25-38.

Summary
The present paper is divided in two parts, both of them dealing with phonological peculiarities of rendering Avestan words into Pahlavi. In the first part, some questions of the Book Pahlavi mode of transliteration of Avestan words are concerned. As a case study, the Pahlavi equivalents of the Avestan words containing the grapheme ß are examined. The second part discusses a particular issue connected with the above subject, i.e. the peculiar correspondence Av. <ß> MP in the pair Av. akaranǝm.drißi- MP ’kn’lk dlym. Another issue —the meaning and etymology of Av. *daßra- and of its Pahlavi correspondence d(y)pl // daßr (deßr)—, due to its marginal character as regards the main body of the paper, is considered in the Appendix.
Keywords : Avestan ; Middle Persian ; Pahlavi (language) ; zand ; transliteration ; etymology.

• S. SCHMIDTKE, “New sources for the life and work of Ibn Abî Jumhûr al-Ahsâ’î”, p. 49-68.

Summary
Recently, two codices have been discovered that significantly augment what was hitherto known about Ibn Abī Jumhūr al-Aḥsā’ī’s (d. after 906/1501) life and œuvre. The codices, which are nowdays in the possession of the Kitābkhāna-yi Madrasa-yi ‘ilmiyya-yi Marwī in Tehran (MSS Marwī 855 and 874), consist exclusively of writings of Ibn Abī Jumhūr and were evidently copied during his lifetime as is indicated by the numerous autograph ijāzas and marginal notes in the hand of the author. The present paper not only outlines the significance of these findings, but also contains an editio princeps of Ibn Abī Jumhūr’s ijāza ‘āmma that is contained in MS Chester Beatty 3810 (ff. 328-329b).
Keywords : Ibn Abī Jumhūr al-Aḥsā’ī ; Illuminationist philosophy ; ijāza ; ijāza ‘āmma ; Mashhad ; al-Ḥasā’ ; manuscript.

• Y. RICHARD, “Le Coup d’État de 1921 et les sources historiques”, p. 69-103.

Summary
Reżā Khān and Seyyed Żiyā seized power in Tehran during the night of the 20-21 February 1921. After the ideological explanations which have attributed this event either to a patriotic upsurge or to a British plot, we must eventually examine the sources which are relatively scarce. New documents shed light on the role of each actor, and particularly show how the two main protagonists met.
Keywords : Iran, 20th c. ; historiography ; Coup d’Etat 1921 ; Reżā Pahlavi.

• S. AMIGUES, “Représentations végétales sur les vases en chlorite de Jiroft”, p. 105-125.

Summary
This article is intended to identify, if possible, the effective patterns of the vegetal representations in the iconographic repertory of Jiroft. It is first recalled how difficult it was in the 3rd millenium B.C. to carve on stone realistic figures of plants and trees with finely divided or scale-like leaves, which dominate in the vegetal landscape around Jiroft. Nevertheless through some characteristic features one may recognize in the nowadays flora the species from which each of these representations proceeds. So are successively examined the ferula that yields assa-foetida, the poisonous and hallucinogenic Syrian rue, the cypress, several pistachio-trees and a high fir-shaped juniper. In the funeral context where the chlorite artefacts of Jiroft were found, these pictures borrowed from the vegetal world show also a prophylactic intention.
Keywords : Jiroft ; Iconography ; Assa-foetida ; Syrian rue ; Cypress ; Pistachio-tree ; Juniper.

NOTE
• M. MAGGI, “Khotanese damänâ-”, p. 129-133.

Comptes rendus, p. 137-156
• GODREJ, Pheroze J. ; Firoza PUNTHAKEY MISTREE, A Zoroastrian Tapestry. Art, Religion and Culture, 2002, 762p. avec de nombreuses illustrations [ISBN : 1 890206-22-9], par Rika Gyselen.
• HAFEZ DE CHIRAZ, Le Divân. Œuvre lyrique d’un spirituel en Perse au XIVe siècle, Introduction, traduction du persan et commentaires par Charles-Henri de Fouchécour, Lagrasse : Verdier (poche), 2006, 1274p. [ISBN : 978-2-86432-471-3], par Anna-Livia Beelaert.
• KHOZHANIYAZOV, Gairatdin, The military architecture of ancient Chorasmia, Persika 7, Paris : De Boccard, 2006, 256p. [ISBN : 2-7018-0196-6], par Carlo Lippolis.
• LIBER AMICORUM : ÉTUDES SUR L’IRAN MÉDIÉVAL ET MODERNE OFFERTES À JEAN CALMARD, M. Bernardini, M. Haneda, M. Szuppe (éds.), volume spécial de Eurasian Studies V/1-2 (2006), xvi-392p. [ISSN : 1722-0750], par Alexandre Papas.
• MANZ, Beatrice Forbes, Power, Politics and Religion in Timurid Iran, Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2007, 313p. [ISBN : 13-978-0-521-86547-0], par Michele Bernardini.
• NEWMAN, Andrew J., Safavid Iran. Rebirth of a Persian Empire, London-New York : I.B. Tauris, 2006, x-279p. [ISBN 10 : 1860646670 HB], par Jean Calmard.
• RUSPOLI, Stéphane, (traduction et présentation), Écrits des Maîtres soufis, 1. Trois traités de Najm Kubrâ, Corbey : Arfuyen, 2006, 174p. [ISBN : 978-2-84590-096-7], par Ève Feuillebois.

Vol. 38/2 (2009)

ARTICLES
• R. GYSELEN, “Primary sources and historiography on the Sasanian empire” p. 163-190.

Summary
Since Sasanian primary sources generally contain little in the way of narrative, modern historians most often have recourse to ancient historiography, but in most cases this greatly postdates the events it describes. Now that new primary sources have come to light, many of the inaccuracies which abound in these ancient historiographical texts can be corrected. Several such examples have been presented at a number of English-language lectures and are reproduced there.
Keywords : Sasanian ; primary sources ; seals ; bullae ; ancient historiography.

• M.A. AMIR-MOEZZI et H. ANSARI, “Muhammad b. Ya‘qûb al-Kulaynî (m. 328 ou 329/939-40 ou 940-41) et son Kitâb al-Kâfî. Une Introduction”, p. 191-247.

Summary
Muḥammad b. Ya‘qūb al-Kulaynī is considered as the founder of Twelver Shi’i Hadith and his opus magnum, the Kitāb al-Kāfī — huge compilation of more than 16000 traditions — as the true basis of theological, spiritual and juridical doctrines of Imami Shi’ism. However, no monographical study based on critical and historical methodologies does not yet exist on this author and his work. The present article is an introductive study on this large and important subject concerning the history of the early Shi’i thought. It is composed by an examination of the political and religious contexts of Kulaynī’s time, the intellectual milieus he lived in at Qumm, Rayy or Bagdad, the fragmentary informations about his life, his masters and pupils and finaly his works, specially the Kitāb al-Kāfī, his only survived book.
Keywords : Kulaynī ; Kitāb al-Kāfī ; Twelver Shi’ism ; Hadith.

• O. MIR-KASIMOV, “Le ‘Journal des rêves’ de Fadlullâh Astarâbâdî : édition et traduction annotée ”, p. 249-304.

Summary
Faḍlullāh Astarābādī (d. 1396) is the charismatic founder of Ḥurūfism, one of the heterodox messianic movements which played an active role on the Muslim East in the aftermath of the Mongol invasion. Notwithstanding its fragmented and allusive composition, Faḍlullāh’s dream journal contains important clues as to the geografical pattern of his travels and the persons with whom he entrertained intellectual and/or political contacts. The only known work of Faḍlullāh which can be considered as “autobiographical”, this journal gives us some personal details on the shaping of a messianic spiritual leader. This is the first edition and the first attempt of an unabridged translation of this text from the archaic Astarābādī Iranian dialect. It is also a contribution to the publishing of the Ḥurūfī texts, the large majority of which is still only available as manuscripts.
Keywords : Islamic heterodoxies ; Islamic messianism ; post-Mongol Iran ; Ḥurūfī ; Faḍlullāh Astarābādī.

Comptes rendus, p. 307-316
• CRONIN, Stephanie, Tribal politics in Iran. Rural conflicts and the new Staten 1921-1941, Abingdon (Oxon – New York : Routledge, 2007, 285p. [ISBN : 978 0-415-40440-2], par Jean-Pierre Digard.
• TSADIK, Daniel, Between foreigners and Shi’is. Nineteenth century Iran and its Jewish minority, Stanford University Press, 2007, 295p. [ISBN : 978-0-8047-5458-3 ; 0-8047-5458-6], par Jean Calmard.

Liste des volumes de Studia Iranica

Keywords:

Vol. 38/1 (2009)

ARTICLES
• A. KORN with a collaboration of D. DURKIN-MEISTERERNST, “Parthian seen from a Balochi perspective” p. 7-23.
Résumé
Pour la plupart, la transcription phonologique des mots parthes a pour point de repère les formes correspondantes soit des langues iraniennes anciennes, soit du perse. Notre article a pour but de démontrer que les langues iraniennes modernes de la famille nord-occidentale, par exemple le baloutchi, sont tout aussi bien susceptibles de contribuer à l’interprétation phonologique et étymologique du parthe. Cette comparaison permet aussi de dégager des lois phonétiques auparavant non reconnues.
Mots clés : parthe ; baloutchi ; langues iraniennes occidentales ; étymologie ; lois phonétiques ; textes manichéens.

• D. BUYANER, “Note on the modes of transliteration of Avestan in pahlavi”, p. 25-38.
Résumé
Le présent article est composé en deux sections, l’une et l’autre étant consacrées aux particularités phonologiques de la traduction pehlevie de l’Avesta. Dans la première section sont élucidés quelques-uns des problèmes de la technique de translittération des mots avestiques en pehlevi. À titre d’exemple concret sont examinés les équivalents pehlevis des mots avestiques contenant le graphème ß. Dans la deuxième section est considérée une question particulière appartenant à ce thème, à savoir la correspondance singulière avestique <ß> moyen-perse dans la paire avestique akaranǝm.drißi- moyen-perse ’kn’lk dlym. La discussion sur un autre point (signification et étymologie du mot avestique *daßra- et celles de son équivalent pehlevi d(y)pl // daßr (deßr), est, en vue de son caractère marginal par rapport au thème général de l’article, reléguée dans un Appendice.
Mots clés : avestique ; moyen-perse ; pehlevi ; zand ; translittération ; étymologie.

• S. SCHMIDTKE, “New sources for the life and work of Ibn Abî Jumhûr al-Ahsâ’î”, p. 49-68.
Résumé
Deux manuscrits récemment découverts enrichissent de façon significative notre savoir sur la vie et l’œuvre de Ibn Abī Jumhūr al-Aḥsā’ī (m. après 906/1501). Les volumes, aujourd’hui conservés à la Kitābkhāna-yi Madrasa-yi ‘ilmiyya-yi Marwī de Téhéran (mss Marwī 855 et 874), contiennent exclusivement les écrits d’Ibn Abī Jumhūr, et, de toute évidence, ils ont été copiés de son vivant, comme en témoigne la présence de nombreux ijāzāt et notices marginales de la main de l’auteur. Outre de présenter l’importance de cette découverte, le présent article contient l’édition princeps d’un ijāza ‘āmma de Ibn Abī Jumhūr contenu dans le manuscrit Chester Beatty 3810 (f. 328-329b).
Mots clés : Ibn Abī Jumhūr al-Aḥsā’ī ; philosophie Illuminationiste ; ijāza ; ijāza ‘āmma ; Mashhad ; al-Ḥasā’ ; manuscrit.

• Y. RICHARD, “Le Coup d’État de 1921 et les sources historiques”, p. 69-103.
Résumé
Reżā Khān et Seyyed Żiyā ont pris le pouvoir dans la nuit du 20 au 21 février 1921 à Téhéran. Après les versions idéologiques attribuant cet événement soit à un sursaut patriotique soit à un complot entièrement piloté par les Britanniques, il est temps d’examiner sérieusement les sources, relativement peu nombreuses. De nouveaux documents permettent de mieux comprendre le rôle de chacun des acteurs, et notamment comment les deux protagonistes se sont rencontrés.
Mots clés : Iran, XXe s. ; historiographie ; coup d’État 1921 ; Reżā Pahlavi.

• S. AMIGUES, “Représentations végétales sur les vases en chlorite de Jiroft”, p. 105-125.
Résumé
L’article s’attache à identifier dans la mesure du possible les modèles réels des repré¬sentations végétales du répertoire iconographique de Jiroft. On rappelle d’abord la difficulté de graver sur pierre, au IIIe millénaire avant notre ère, des images réalistes de plantes et d’arbres à feuilles finement découpées ou en écailles, qui prédominent dans le paysage végétal des environs de Jiroft. Cependant certains traits caractéristiques permettent de reconnaître dans la flore actuelle l’espèce d’où procède chacune de ces représentations. On examine ainsi successivement la férule à assa-foetida, l’harmale ou rue de Syrie toxique et hallucinogène, le cyprès, plusieurs pistachiers, un grand genévrier en forme de sapin. Dans le contexte funéraire où le mobilier en chlorite de Jiroft a été découvert, ces images empruntées au monde végétal révèlent également une intention prophylactique.
Mots clés : Jiroft ; iconographie ; assa-foetida ; harmale ; cyprès ; pistachier ; genévrier.

NOTE
• M. MAGGI, “Khotanese damänâ-”, p. 129-133.

Comptes rendus, p. 137-156
• GODREJ, Pheroze J. ; Firoza PUNTHAKEY MISTREE, A Zoroastrian Tapestry. Art, Religion and Culture, 2002, 762p. avec de nombreuses illustrations [ISBN : 1 890206-22-9], par Rika Gyselen.
• HAFEZ DE CHIRAZ, Le Divân. Œuvre lyrique d’un spirituel en Perse au XIVe siècle, Introduction, traduction du persan et commentaires par Charles-Henri de Fouchécour, Lagrasse : Verdier (poche), 2006, 1274p. [ISBN : 978-2-86432-471-3], par Anna-Livia Beelaert.
• KHOZHANIYAZOV, Gairatdin, The military architecture of ancient Chorasmia, Persika 7, Paris : De Boccard, 2006, 256p. [ISBN : 2-7018-0196-6], par Carlo Lippolis.
• LIBER AMICORUM : ÉTUDES SUR L’IRAN MÉDIÉVAL ET MODERNE OFFERTES À JEAN CALMARD, M. Bernardini, M. Haneda, M. Szuppe (éds.), volume spécial de Eurasian Studies V/1-2 (2006), xvi-392p. [ISSN : 1722-0750], par Alexandre Papas.
• MANZ, Beatrice Forbes, Power, Politics and Religion in Timurid Iran, Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2007, 313p. [ISBN : 13-978-0-521-86547-0], par Michele Bernardini.
• NEWMAN, Andrew J., Safavid Iran. Rebirth of a Persian Empire, London-New York : I.B. Tauris, 2006, x-279p. [ISBN 10 : 1860646670 HB], par Jean Calmard.
• RUSPOLI, Stéphane, (traduction et présentation), Écrits des Maîtres soufis, 1. Trois traités de Najm Kubrâ, Corbey : Arfuyen, 2006, 174p. [ISBN : 978-2-84590-096-7], par Ève Feuillebois.

Vol. 38/2 (2009)

ARTICLES
• R. GYSELEN, “Primary sources and historiography on the Sasanian empire” p. 163-190.
Résumé
Étant donné que les sources primaires sassanides sont peu narratives, les historiens modernes se tournent le plus souvent vers l’historiographie ancienne, laquelle toutefois est la plupart du temps bien postérieure aux événements qu’elle véhicule. Avec l’apparition de nouvelles sources primaires on peut désormais corriger de nombreuses inexactitudes dont sont truffés ces anciens textes historiographiques. Plusieurs exemples en ont été présentés à l’occasion de conférences en anglais et quelques uns sont reproduits ici.
Mots clés : sassanide ; sigillographie ; textes anciens historiographiques.

• M.A. AMIR-MOEZZI et H. ANSARI, “Muhammad b. Ya‘qûb al-Kulaynî (m. 328 ou 329/939-40 ou 940-41) et son Kitâb al-Kâfî. Une Introduction”, p. 191-247.
Résumé
Muḥammad b. Ya‘qūb al-Kulaynī est considéré comme le père du Hadith shi’ite imamite et son opus magnum, le Kitāb al-Kāfī, somme impressionnante de plus de 16000 traditions, comme la base fondamentale des doctrines théologiques, spirituelles et juridiques du shi’isme duodécimain. Et pourtant jusqu’ici aucune monographie n’a été consacrée ni à lui ni à son ouvrage selon des perspectives historico-critiques. La présente étude, loin d’être exhaustive, se veut simplement une introduction à ce sujet aussi vaste que capital pour l’histoire de la pensée shi’ite naissante. Y sont examinés les contextes politiques et religieux de l’époque d’al-Kulaynī, les milieux intellectuels qu’il fréquentait dans les cités de Qumm, de Rayy et de Bagdad, les informations éparses sur sa formation et sa vie, ses maîtres et ses disciples et finalement son œuvre, plus particulièrement le Kitāb al-Kāfī, son seul ouvrage parvenu jusqu’à nous.
Mots clés : Kulaynī ; Kitāb al-Kāfī ; shi’isme duodécimain ; Hadith.

• O. MIR-KASIMOV, “Le ‘Journal des rêves’ de Fadlullâh Astarâbâdî : édition et traduction annotée ”, p. 249-304.
Résumé
Faḍlullāh Astarābādī (m. 1396) est le fondateur charismatique du hurufisme, un des mouvements hétérodoxes messianiques qui ont joué un rôle actif en Orient musulman à la suite de l’invasion mongole. Malgré son caractère fragmentaire et allusif, le journal des rêves de Faḍlullāh contient des indications importantes concernant la géographie de ses voyages et les personnes avec lesquelles il entretenait des contacts intellectuels et/ou politiques. Seul écrit connu de Faḍlullāh qu’on puisse qualifier d’autobiographique, ce journal apporte aussi un éclairage personnel sur le parcours spirituel qui a fondé les ambitions messianiques de son auteur. C’est la première édition et la premie`re tentative de traduction intégrale de ce texte à partir du dialecte iranien archaïque d’Astarābād, et une contribution à l’édition de textes ḥurūfī dont la quasi-totalité n’est accessible à présent que par le biais des manuscrits.
Mots clés : hétérodoxies islamiques ; messianisme musulman ; Iran post-Mongol ; ḥurūfī ; Faḍlullāh Astarābādī.

Comptes rendus, p. 307-316
• CRONIN, Stephanie, Tribal politics in Iran. Rural conflicts and the new Staten 1921-1941, Abingdon (Oxon – New York : Routledge, 2007, 285p. [ISBN : 978 0-415-40440-2], par Jean-Pierre Digard.
• TSADIK, Daniel, Between foreigners and Shi’is. Nineteenth century Iran and its Jewish minority, Stanford University Press, 2007, 295p. [ISBN : 978-0-8047-5458-3 ; 0-8047-5458-6], par Jean Calmard.

Liste des volumes de Studia Iranica

Mots clés :