Vol. 41/1 (2012)

ARTICLES
• A. AHMADI, “Religious Regulation of Hospitality in the Gāthās (Y 46.5 & 6)”, p. 7-24.

Summary
More than any other Gāthic text Yasna 46 is concerned with issues that reflect the circumstances of Zarathuštra’s life. This makes it extremely valuable for interpretation of the Gāthās, since here we may find clues about the image the poet had of himself. Did the poet think of himself as a ‘prophet’, as Mazdaean tradition and the Western scholarship in the main believe ? Or, as a new current of Avestan studies has it, was he a Vedic-type poet and ritual performer who should be imagined within the same ‘traditional’ mold as the poets of the so-called Family Books of the Ṛgveda ? The poet’s intention to have an impact on community norms is shown in Y 46.5 and 6 by his religious regulation of the important custom of hospitality. I examine four previous translations of these verses, arguing that their syntax was wrongly analyzed and as a result their sense and significance remained completely obscure. Based on a detailed syntactic and semantic analysis of these verses I offer a new translation. I conclude by pointing out the relevance of the findings for a few controversial issues of contemporary Avesta scholarship.
Keywords : hospitality ; Gāthās ; Zarathuštra ; religion ; sacrifice ; Avesta scholarship.

• P. TANDON, “The Location and Kings of Pāradān”, p. 25-56.

Summary
Scholars have been unsure of the location of the kingdom of Pāradān, mentioned in the ŠKZ inscription of the Sasanian emperor Shāpur I (241-272) and the Paikuli inscription of Narseh (293-303). Most estimates placed it in what is now the western part of the Pakistani state of Balochistan and eastern Iran, west of the estimated location of the kingdom of Turān. This paper provides new numismatic evidence, linked to earlier archaeological evidence, that allows us to confidently place Pāradān in the eastern part of Balochistan, most probably east of the kingdom of Turān. The coin series, issued over a period of about 175 years, shows no Sasanian influence and therefore sheds light on the relationship between the centre and the periphery in the Sasanian empire
Keywords : dynastic history ; numismatics ; Pāradān (Pārdān/Paradene) ; ŠKZ ; Paikuli ; Sasanian provinces.

• H. ANSARI & S. SCHMIDTKE, “Mu‘tazilism in Rayy and Astarābād : Abū l-Faḍl al-‘Abbās b. Sharwīn (Studies on the transmission of knowledge from Iran to Yemen in the 6th/12th and 7th/13th c., II)”, p. 57-100.

Summary
Among the Zaydī students of ‘Abd al-Jabbār al-Hamadhānī (d. 415/1024) was Abū l-Faḍl al-‘Abbās b. Sharwīn who hailed from Astarābād. While his opus magnum on theology, Yāqūtat al-īmān wa-wāsiṭat al-burhān was known in 9th/16th-century Iran, no manuscript has so far surfaced. It is preserved, however, in the form of a paraphrastic commentary on it by the Yemenī Zaydī theologian al-Ḥasan al-Raṣṣāṣ (d. 584/1188). In addition, Ibn Sharwīn composed a text containing theological definitions, a critical edition of which is presented here on the basis of the single extant manuscript from Yemen. He is also known to have written a Kitāb al-Madkhal fī uṣūl al-dīn of which a partial copy is perhaps preserved in a manuscript of Yemeni origin that now belongs to the Ambrosiana library in Milan.
Keywords : Zaydism ; Mu‘tazilism ; kalām ; al-Ḥasan al-Raṣṣāṣ ; Ibn Sharwīn ; ‘Abd al Jabbār al-Hamadhānī ; books of definitions ; Astarābād.

• A. YAMAGUCHI, “Shāh Ṭahmāsp’s Kurdish Policy”, p. 101-132.

Summary
This papre challenges the widely held myth that, as distinct from the Ottomans, the Safavids dealt severely with the Kurdish tribes and their chieftains, depriving them of their inherited districts. A close analysis of related historical sources from this period, especially a unique record on Kurdish tribal confederations, Sharaf-nāma, written by Sharaf Khān Bidlīsī provides us with a fresh image of the Kurdish policy pursued in the 16th century by the first two Safavid rulers, Ismā‘īl I, and especially Ṭahmāsp.
Keywords : Kurdistan ; Safavids ; Ottomans ; Ṭahmāsp I ; qūrchī.

NOTES
• M. SHENKAR, “On the temple of Oxus in Bactria, III (Review article of B. Litvinskiy, Khram Oksa v Baktrii, 3)”, p. 135-142.

IN MEMORIAM
• Jacques Duchesne-Guillemin (1910-2012), p. 145-151.

Comptes rendus, p. 155-165
• KADOI, Yuka. Islamic Chinoiserie. The Art of Mongol Iran, Edinburg, Edinburgh University Press , 2009, 286 p. [ISBN : 978-0-7486-3582-5], par Éloïse Brac de La Perrière.
• KENNET, Derek ; Paul LUFT. Current Research in Sasanian Archaeology, Art and History. Proceedings of a Conference held at Durham University, November 3rd and 4th, 2001, BAR International Series 1810, 2008, 161p., par Rémy Boucharlat.
• SHAMS ESHRAGH, A., Silver Coinage of the Caliphs (A Fully Illustrated Catalogue), London : Spink & Son Ltd, 2010, 325p. [ISBN : 978-600-90916-0-7], par Rika Gyselen.

Vol. 41/2 (2012)
ARTICLES
• A. GARIBOLDI & A. ŠARIPOV, “A Sasanian Hoard from Dushanbe”, p. 169-186.

Summary
The present paper analyses a hoard of Sasanian drachms which was found in 1950 in Dushanbe. So far, it is the unique treasure of Sasanian coins from Tajikistan. The hoard contains coins of Yazdgird I, Wahrām V and Yazdgird II. The author connects the presence of these coins in Central Asia to the payments that Yazdgird II had to make to the Kidarites around the middle of the 5th century to secure peace on the border. All the coins were countermarked by a local authority with an interesting “S” shaped tamgha.
Keywords : numismatics ; coin hoards ; Sasanid Iran ; Tajikistan ; Dushanbe.

• A. ANISI, “The Kūshk-i Raḥīmābād in Bam”, p. 187-202.

Summary
The history of garden architecture in early Islamic Iran is little known. This article introduces one of the earliest surviving garden pavilions or kūshks in the Bam area (southeastern Iran). The square building, measuring ca. 34×34 m, has four rectangular īwāns, one on each side. The edifice is datable to the 4th/10th century.
Keywords : architecture ; Islamic period ; pavilion ; kūshk ; Bam.

• Ch. van RUYMBEKE, “Murder in the Forest. Celebrating Rewritings and Misreadings of the Kalila-Dimna Tale of the Lion and the Hare”, p. 203-254.

Summary
This paper considers rewritings and translations of a key-episode within the cycle of fables known as the Kalila-Dimna in several innovative ways. First, by considering the ways in which this episode has been rewritten throughout the centuries, the essay takes a stand radically opposed to the prevalent scholarship around the fables, which consists in rating the rewritings for their faithfulness to the source text(s). The present approach “celebrates” the misreadings and rewritings for the insights they give us into the mechanisms of the tale. Second, by analysing the episode as a weighty lesson in domestic politics, showing the fatal mistakes that can build up to regicide, the essay also aims at re-introducing an awareness of the contents of the fables as a very effective and unusual mirror for princes.
Keywords : Kalila-Dimna ; fables ; Pancatantra ; rewritings ; misreadings ; regicide ; mirror for princes.

• W. FLOOR, “The Trade in and Position of Slaves in Southern Iran, 1825-1925”, p. 255-294.

Summary
The situation of slavery in Southern Iran during the Qājār period (1797-1925) is described through a discussion of the slave trade, both foreign and domestic ; how the maritime import of slaves was banned ; how this gave rise to the export of Baluchi slaves to Oman, and finally the various ways slaves were made use of, both in domestic and agricultural tasks, as well as how they were treated.
Keywords : Qājār Iran ; slavery (trade and employment) ; Baluchistan ; Oman ; Mekran.

IN MEMORIAM
• Gherardo Gnoli (1937-2012), [par Ph. Gignoux], p. 297-302.

Comptes rendus, p. 305-323.
• HERMANN, Denis ; Fabrizio SPEZIALE, eds., Muslim Culture in the Indo-Iranian World during the Early-Modern and Modern Periods, Berlin : IFRI – Klaus Schwarz Verlag, 2010, 596p. [ISBN : 978-2-909961-45-3, et 978-3-87997-364-4], par Jean Calmard.
• PAPAS, Alexandre, Mystiques et vagabonds en islam : portraits de trois soufis qalandar, Paris : Cerf, 2010, 338p., [ISBN : 978-2-204-09294-4], par È. Feuillebois.
• RICHARD, Francis ; Maria SZUPPE, eds., Écrit et culture en Asie centrale et dans le monde turco-iranien, Xe-XIXe siècles, (Cahiers de Studia Iranica 40), Paris : AAEI, 2009, 470p. [ISBN : 978-2-910640-26-2], par Colin P. Mitchell.
• RITTER, Nils C., Die altorientalischen Traditionen der sasanidischen Glyptik : Form–Gebrauch–Ikonographie, Wien : Lit Verlag, 2010, 384p. [ISBN : 978-3-643-50223-0], par Rika Gyselen.

Table des matières du volume 41, p. 324.

Keywords:

Vol. 41/1 (2012)

ARTICLES
• A. AHMADI, “Religious Regulation of Hospitality in the Gāthās (Y 46.5 & 6)”, p. 7-24.
Résumé
Parmi les textes gathiques, c’est le Yasna 46 qui est le plus concerné avec les questions des circonstances de la vie de Zarathuštra. Ce texte est précieux pour l’interprétation des Gāthās car il offre des indices sur l’image que le poète avait de lui-même. Est-ce que le poète se considérait comme un « prophète », conformément à l’idée répandue dans la tradition mazdéenne et, généralement, dans la recherche occidentale ? Ou, comme le propose un nouveau courant d’études avestiques, était-il un poète de type védique et un artiste rituel que l’on devrait imaginer comme appartenant au même moule « traditionnel » que celui des soi-disant poètes des Livres de la Famille du Ṛgveda ? L’intention du poète d’influencer les normes communautaires est visible dans le Y 46.5-6 où figurent les règles religieuses relatives à l’importante coutume de l’hospitalité. Nous étudions quatre traductions antérieures de ces vers, en arguant que, leur syntaxe ayant été analysée de façon erronée, leur sens et leur signification sont restés complètement obscures. Nous proposons une nouvelle traduction basée sur une analyse syntaxique et sémantique détaillée. En conclusion, nous soulignons la pertinence de ces résultats pour certaines questions controversées de la recherche contemporaine sur l’Avesta.
Mots clés : hospitalité ; Gāthās ; Zarathuštra ; religion ; sacrifice ; études avestiques.

• P. TANDON, “The Location and Kings of Pāradān”, p. 25-56.
Résumé
La localisation du royaume de Pāradān, cité dans l’inscription de la ŠKZ de l’empereur sassanide Shāpur Ier (241-272) et dans l’inscription de Paikuli du roi Narseh (293-303), est depuis longtemps débattue par les chercheurs. On a le plus souvent proposé de le situer dans la partie occidentale du Balouchistan pakistanais et en Iran oriental, à l’ouest de la localisation supposée du royaume de Turān. Le présent article fournit de nouveaux matériaux numismatiques qui, en appui des matériaux archéologiques déjà connus, nous permettent avec certitude de situer le Pārandān dans la partie orientale du Balouchistan, et très probablement à l’est du royaume de Turān. La série des monnaies, émises sur une période de 175 ans environ, montre l’absence d’influence sassanide et, par là même, éclaire la question des relations entre le centre et la périphérie de l’empire sassanide.
Mots clés : histoire dynastique ; numismatique ; Pāradān (Pārdān/Paradene) ; ŠKZ ; Paikuli ; provinces sassanides.

• H. ANSARI & S. SCHMIDTKE, “Mu‘tazilism in Rayy and Astarābād : Abū l-Faḍl al-‘Abbās b. Sharwīn (Studies on the transmission of knowledge from Iran to Yemen in the 6th/12th and 7th/13th c., II)”, p. 57-100.
Résumé
Abū l Faḍl al-‘Abbās b. Sharwīn, originaire d’Astrarābād, figure parmi les disciples zaydī de ‘Abd al-Jabbār al-Hamadhānī (m. 415/1024). Bien que son opus magnum sur la théologie, intitulé Yāqūtat al-īmān wa-wāsiṭat al-burhān, était connu en Iran au IXe/XVIe siècle, aucun manuscrit de l’ouvrage n’a été repértorié à ce jour. Il a cependant été préservé à travers un commentaire paraphrastique écrit par un théologien zaydite du Yemen al-Ḥasan al-Raṣṣāṣ (m. 584/1188). De plus, Ibn Sharwīn a composé un texte consacré aux définitions théologiques dont l’édition critique, basée sur le seul manuscrit connu conservé au Yemen, fait l’objet de la présente publication. Ibn Sharwīn est également connu comme l’auteur du Kitāb al-Madkhal fī uṣūl al-dīn dont une copie partielle a peut-être été préservée dans un manuscrit d’origine yemenite conservé actuellement à la bibliothèque Ambrosiana de Milan.
Mots clés : Zaydisme ; Mu‘tazilisme ; kalām ; al-Ḥasan al-Raṣṣāṣ ; Ibn Sharwīn ; ‘Abd al Jabbār al-Hamadhānī ; livres des définitions ; Astarābād.

• A. YAMAGUCHI, “Shāh Ṭahmāsp’s Kurdish Policy”, p. 101-132.
Résumé
Cet article remet en question un mythe largement répandu, selon lequel, à la différence des Ottomans, les Safavides suivirent une politique sévère vis-à-vis des tribus kurdes et leurs chefs, les privant de leurs droits de gouverner leurs territoires. Une analyse attentive des sources historiques relatives à cette période, en particulier une chronique unique sur les confédérations tribales kurdes, le Sharaf-nāma, écrite par Sharaf Khān Bidlīsī, nous donne une nouvelle image de la politique kurde poursuivie au XVIIe siècle par les deux premiers souverains safavides, Ismā‘īl Ier, et surtout Ṭahmāsp.
Mots clés : Kurdes ; Kurdistan ; Safavides ; Ottomans ; Ṭahmāsp Ier ; qūrchī.

NOTES
• M. SHENKAR, “On the temple of Oxus in Bactria, III (Review article of B. Litvinskiy, Khram Oksa v Baktrii, 3)”, p. 135-142.

IN MEMORIAM
• Jacques Duchesne-Guillemin (1910-2012), p. 145-151.

Comptes rendus, p. 155-165
• KADOI, Yuka. Islamic Chinoiserie. The Art of Mongol Iran, Edinburg, Edinburgh University Press , 2009, 286 p. [ISBN : 978-0-7486-3582-5], par Éloïse Brac de La Perrière.
• KENNET, Derek ; Paul LUFT. Current Research in Sasanian Archaeology, Art and History. Proceedings of a Conference held at Durham University, November 3rd and 4th, 2001, BAR International Series 1810, 2008, 161p., par Rémy Boucharlat.
• SHAMS ESHRAGH, A., Silver Coinage of the Caliphs (A Fully Illustrated Catalogue), London : Spink & Son Ltd, 2010, 325p. [ISBN : 978-600-90916-0-7], par Rika Gyselen.

Vol. 41/2 (2012)
ARTICLES
• A. GARIBOLDI & A. ŠARIPOV, “A Sasanian Hoard from Dushanbe”, p. 169-186.
Résumé
L’article présente une analyse d’un trésor composé de drachmes sassanides, trouvé en 1950 à Douchanbé, qui constitue à ce jour l’unique trésor de monnaies sassanides provenant du Tadjikistan. Il est composé de monnaies de Yazdgird Ier, de Wahrām V et de Yazdgird II. L’auteur fait le lien entre la présence de ces monnaies en Asie centrale et les paiements que Yazdgird II a dû verser aux Kidarites vers le milieu du Ve siècle, pour garantir la paix frontalière. Toutes les monnaies portent une contremarque, apposée par une authorité locale, représentée par un tamgha en forme de « S » assez particulier.
Mots clés : numismatique ; trésors monétaires ; Iran sassanide ; Tadjikistan ; Douchanbé.

• A. ANISI, “The Kūshk-i Raḥīmābād in Bam”, p. 187-202.
Résumé
L’histoire de l’architecture de jardin en Iran au début de la période islamique reste peu connue. Cette étude présente l’un des premiers pavillons de jardin (kūshk) qui nous sont parvenus, situé dans le voisinage immédiat de la ville de Bam au sud-est de l’Iran. Ce bâtiment carré d’environ 34 m. de côté présente quatre īwāns disposés sur les deux axes principaux. La construction est datable au IVe/Xe siècle.
Mots clés : architecture ; période islamique ; pavillon ; kūshk (kiosque) ; Bam.

• Ch. van RUYMBEKE, “Murder in the Forest. Celebrating Rewritings and Misreadings of the Kalila-Dimna Tale of the Lion and the Hare”, p. 203-254.
Résumé
Cet article propose un nouveau regard sur la question des ré-écritures et traductions d’un épisode-clé du cycle des fables de Kalila et Dimna. Tout d’abord, se plaçant à l’opposé de l’approche habituelle des fables, qui consiste à en apprécier les différentes versions pour leur ressemblance avec le texte-source, cet article, au contraire, « célèbre » les variantes introduites par les ré-écritures de la fable au cours des siècles. Ces variantes nous donnent des informations quant à la compréhension du contenu de la fable. Ensuite, cet article analyse la fable en tant que leçon de politique domestique, car elle indique les erreurs fatales qui peuvent mener au régicide. Cette analyse permettra de ré-introduire une compréhension des fables en tant que Miroir des Princes tout à fait inhabituel et efficace.
Mots clés : Kalila-Dimna ; fables ; Pancatantra ; ré-écritures ; lectures ; régicide ; miroir des princes.

• W. FLOOR, “The Trade in and Position of Slaves in Southern Iran, 1825-1925”, p. 255-294.
Résumé
La situation de l’esclavage en Iran méridional pendant la règne des Qājārs (1797-1925) est analysée à travers la question du traffic d’esclaves, étrangers ainsi que locaux. On s’interroge sur l’interdiction de l’importation des esclaves par voie de mer résultant dans une augmentation de l’exportation des esclaves Baluch vers l’Oman. Enfin, on aborde les fonctions différentes assignées aux esclaves, dans les domaines aussi bien domestique qu’agricole, et comment ils étaient traités.
Mots clés : Iran qājār ; esclavage (trafic et emploi) ; Baluchistan ; Oman ; Mekran.

IN MEMORIAM
• Gherardo Gnoli (1937-2012), [par Ph. Gignoux], p. 297-302.

Comptes rendus, p. 305-323.
• HERMANN, Denis ; Fabrizio SPEZIALE, eds., Muslim Culture in the Indo-Iranian World during the Early-Modern and Modern Periods, Berlin : IFRI – Klaus Schwarz Verlag, 2010, 596p. [ISBN : 978-2-909961-45-3, et 978-3-87997-364-4], par Jean Calmard.
• PAPAS, Alexandre, Mystiques et vagabonds en islam : portraits de trois soufis qalandar, Paris : Cerf, 2010, 338p., [ISBN : 978-2-204-09294-4], par È. Feuillebois.
• RICHARD, Francis ; Maria SZUPPE, eds., Écrit et culture en Asie centrale et dans le monde turco-iranien, Xe-XIXe siècles, (Cahiers de Studia Iranica 40), Paris : AAEI, 2009, 470p. [ISBN : 978-2-910640-26-2], par Colin P. Mitchell.
• RITTER, Nils C., Die altorientalischen Traditionen der sasanidischen Glyptik : Form–Gebrauch–Ikonographie, Wien : Lit Verlag, 2010, 384p. [ISBN : 978-3-643-50223-0], par Rika Gyselen.

Table des matières du volume 41, p. 324.

Mots clés :